worship is not about me

Posted: June 30, 2008 in Worship
Tags: , , , , , ,

Leading worship can be a stressful thing. Unlike personal worship where there are no goals except for you to capture God’s heart, leading corporate worship is about others capturing His heart. Its an act of service – much like stacking chairs or teaching children. I am giving, not receiving. And it has absolutely nothing to do with me. God proved this once again last Sunday.

See, I have “lost” all my electric guitar players in the last few months. One moved to Thailand, the other took a job in Panama City and the latest felt called back to his old church. Gee thanks, guys. đŸ™‚ Now in my natural mind, this scares the crap out of me because we already don’t have a keyboard player and that means that any instruments that provided texture and depth to the music are gone. I am left as the only one playing an instrument that is musical in nature (sorry bassists, you’re more like percussion). And for this reason, I have broken out my Schecter hybrid guitar so I can play acoustic and electric at the same time. Still adjusting to it but it seems to be going well.

So on top of this, our most excellent drummer felt the need to take a cruise to the Virgin Islands this last week. So our percussionist filled in on drums. Now Scott is by no means a bad drummer but he will be the first to admit that he is rusty on the kit. This is compounded by the fact that he hurt the knee on his kick drumming leg last week. So I’d be lying if I said I wasn’t a little nervous about the upcoming service.

During my prayer time that morning, the Holy Spirit spoke to me and said he was going to prove to me that our worship has nothing to do with who was or wasn’t in the lineup. Well, God really moved and we didn’t get to finish the whole set. It was awesome. Spirit songs came forth and a vision for where God is taking the church was birthed in the hearts of the people. People were healed physically and emotionally and hearts were turned back to Him.

Worship is not about me. Its not about my abilities, my instruments, the sound quality, the personnel, or
if we sing the the popular songs on the radio. Its about creating a structure so the congregation can meet with Jesus. As a worship leader, I am a matchmaker who encourages and facilitates the meeting between two lovers. What an amazing thing!

Comments
  1. sarah jones! says:

    my flesh wants to say: “i love when you get proved wrong.” and that’s specifcally for you jamie, because all too often you’re right and i’m probably jealous once you get down to it.

    i’m so glad you got encouragment on that, very much so. i know you were really worried about that and i know how important good musicianship is to you ; )

Leave a Reply

