todd bentley, the lakeland revival, and I told you so’s

Posted: August 15, 2008 in Christianity
Tags: , , , , ,

For those of you who have been following the healing revival going on in Lakeland, you have, no doubt, heard that Todd Bentley and his wife are separating. If not, read this.

It was only a few hours after this announcement that I began to see several “I told you so” articles. Some who had been outspoken against the revival all along relished in the news as further proof of its illegitimacy are openly hoping this news puts the final nail in the coffin of the revival. Others who have stayed silent on the issue are now, with new (convenient) confidence, saying that we should’ve known all along. An example can be found here.

Didn’t take us Christians long to kick our wounded did it?

Ok, lets see if we can sort this out. Here are the facts as we know them: Todd Bentley and his wife are separating. And here is what this means to the body of Christ: Todd Bentley and his wife are separating.

Here is what this news doesn’t mean: 1) The revival was a fraud 2) Todd is a bad guy 3) Those guys that spoke out against Todd should be lifted up and praised (isn’t that what they thought was happening with Todd?) 4) Tattoos and black shirts are scary 5) Jesus slipped and fell of His throne.

Bottom line: Todd and his wife are separating. Thats it. No other information. It doesn’t effect you. We don’t even know why at this point. Why assume the worst? Why consider some grandiose conspiracy theory? Why seek this out as a way to prove yourself right? A man’s marriage is quite possibly falling apart and all we can think about is ourselves!

Why do Christians do this to each other? Simple – we don’t believe the bible. Oh sure, we know the verses that prove our belief system. We know how to disprove someone else’s theology. We have those memorized. We can talk down the Mormons or Jehovah’s Witnesses when they ring our bell. We can tell you all the stuff that’s supposedly going to happen before Jesus comes back. But what about love (1 Cor 13)? What about preferring others better than ourselves (Phil 2:3)? What about not believing accusations against those who have given their lives in ministry (1 Tim 5:19)? We don’t really believe those. If we did, we’d practive them. We’d hold them in as high esteem as the verses that say Jesus is the only way to the Father. Same book, same author. Yet, we treat those commands regarding how to treat others as secondary.

Yes, I personally have had some concerns about the revival. Yes, if there is infidelity or other agregious sin that lead to the seperation, Todd should step down and get restored. But let’s not hope for the worst in an effort to prop oursleves up as being right.

“I told you so” cannot be said in love.

Comments
  1. bwt says:

    Are you sure there isn’t more? I think I would hold my tongue until all the dusts settles.

  2. […] Guess Todd Bentley Proved Everyone Right… Hold up there, champ.  Read this excellent take on Todd Bentley’s marital separation. Christians, we need to treat people better. I think I […]

  3. Lorikate says:

    While I don’t agree with Todd Bentley’s “ministry” at all, I’m firmly agree with your statement that “I told you so” cannot be said in love. My first reaction was just that (seeing as I am human and fail too.) I realized it was a very Un-Christlike attitude to have. But whether he likes it or not…when you are in the limelight, your personal life DOES reflect on your ministry. Even so, I truly hope that his marriage will be restored.

  4. mindy says:

    good entry…need to send this to RTippett, she was pretty frustrated with the response of some and how the critical tone of earlier articles is now..should we be surprised??…Everyone in our immediate church family that I have spoken to has been more of the vein..’ can you just IMAGINE the stress that family has been through the past several months?’, and ‘the enemy will get in any small cracks and bust them wide open just to attempt to discredit what God has done through the person’..from a family who has seen one child freed of chronic allergies, myself delivered of thyroid issues, and an unbelievable stirring of our faith…we need to pray for restoration for this family, not tear down how God used them recently. Love you guys..give your sweet wife an extra hug for me!!! Bookmarking this great blog, too..

  5. scott771 says:

    Letter just released by Fresh Fire Board of Directors. An apology from them on Todd’s affair(s)

    How come I knew this two mos. ago and the ‘Apostles’ didn’t?

    http://northwestmusings.wordpress.com/?p=290&preview=true

  6. King David’s wife did not support him fully, Job’s wife as welll but so have the unsupportive wives of many other faithful Christian persons including John Bunyan now too. For that matter neither did Jesus own family now too.

    Mark 3:33 And He replied, Who are My mother and My brothers? 34 And looking around on those who sat in a circle about Him, He said, See! Here are My mother and My brothers; 35 For whoever does the things God wills is My brother and sister and mother!

    http://postedat.wordpress.com/2008/08/16/healing-todd-bentley-florda-lakeland-revival/

  7. Jamie says:

    BTW,
    The problem is that the bible clearly doesn’t instruct us to “hold our tongue until the dust settles.” Thats the whole point of the post. The bible, in multiple places, instructs us to believe the best about others. I fear many Christians aren’t doing that now. If its later proven that Todd has had affairs, is lying, etc. we’ll deal with it then. But I just don’t understand how Christians can so blatantly ignore what the bible says regarding these matters.

  8. Carrie says:

    Good grief. Believe the best about Todd Bentley? Even when he’s practically using witchcraft to draw a crowd? What’s good about a spirit guide called Emma O? We are to have a godly judgment of such things, and flee from it. Todd may have started out very sincere, but he strayed from the purity & simplicity that is found in Christ alone. (I’m not even talking about the affairs or separation).

    Discernment, people. Pray for Todd, but be discerning.

  9. T says:

    This is the problem….. No one listened. People used the term “God wants to offend your flesh”. I told you so is wrong, but what is also wrong is turning a blind eye to obvious heresy. I was rebuked when I went to Lakeland and did not join in on the excitement. I did not speak ill of it, I just was not excited about it. I had to go home and process what I was seeing. I researched and watched the revival. I noticed that people were not being healed and healings could not be verified. I only stated my opinion when asked then rebuked severely. So I stayed quiet. Some bloggers appeared to be totally in the flesh and judging , invalidating what may have been a valid point. I endured my pastor defending Todd Bentley week after week to the point that I had to decrease my participation in church activities after my pastor told the congregation not to tell him this was not from God. For me it was not denying the supernatural or angelic realm…I have seen angels, it was about knowing the word of God and listening to my discernment. The biggest problem was that so many lifted Todd up and did not protect him from humanity by holding him accountable.
    I hope we all learned from this situation.
    -heart broken

  10. robors says:

    That is about the best comment on Todd Bentley I have read in a long time. Yes Todd Bentley has issues. No maybe he shouldn’t have so many tattoos on his body. No, maybe he could be just a teensy wee bit more reserved than he is. Maybe he is off balance and maybe he is a teensy wee bit overfocused on the supernatural,angels, etc.
    Let me ask you this: have you ever looked backed on your life and realized that you was really wrong in one certain way and then repented to God and then changed your behaviour and then went on with your life, doing better? Does that make someone an evil person if they are mostly right but not all the way right? Do you know anybody who is one hundred percent correct in every single thing they say and do? Do you condemn them? Do you hang them up on a cross and spit on them and watch them suffer and bleed or do you just remember to pray for them and believe that in their own time God will heal them and transform them?
    Todd Bentley is a man of God. He has some much needed changes to make but then again, don’t you? Well I’m not a famous preacher like he is you say. Oh, so that makes whatever you do wrong O.K.? JWell, I don’t do anything wrong you say. Really? I would really like to meet you, Mr. or Mrs. Perfect. Jesus said that he that is without sin cast the first stone.

  11. dale henry says:

    wow! how is it that christians are so mean? i have checked everything done in the meetings, and they are backed up with scripture! how is it that people know so little of Gods word? the same power that raised JESUS FROM FROM THE DEAD HEALS,delivers,cast out demons,etc.angels are real, remember it was the church folks that hated Christ and killed him!! and the same supernatural power that raised him from the dead!!! you folks call it witchcraft!! My God created the earth and humans and the universe also with his words!!! Gods pouring out his power on all flesh in the last days!! get used to it!! God says touch not mine annointed!! be careful !!God forgives us!!! can you? BLESSINGS, Dale

  12. robert says:

    excellent post. i wonder how many of those that have bashed bentley and spoken ill of him would like the same thing done to them? or to a close friend who has similar troubles? i am amazed at how so many people are so quick to judge (yes, i used the j word) others. surely they will never slip up or have similar problems in their perfect lives. people piss me off.

  13. if one were to examine it in more detail it seems there were 2 other major failed Pentecostal preachers who apparently did not get their wife’s full support, Jimmy Swaggart and Jim Baker.

  14. Hi.
    I found your Web Site by Google
    And I wish you the best you can get,
    the peace of God through Jesus Christ.

    Welcome to visit my Site.
    Allan Svensson, Sweden

    Why does the revival tarry? It is because God’s
    people tarry to obey the powerful command of
    the Lord in Rev. 18:4. This is the most powerful
    revival message of the Lord to his people in our time.
    http://www.algonet.se/~allan-sv/INDEX.HTM

    The coming revival, a nameless revival
    http://www.algonet.se/~allan-sv/POWERFUL.HTM

    Why was the Pentecostal Revival stopped?
    http://www.algonet.se/~allan-sv/CRISIS.HTM

    As in the days of Lot, it is now. Lot was not interested
    to leave Sodom. God sent two angels to rescue him.
    One of the angels said to him: “Flee for your life sake …”
    Just like as Lot, God’s people are not interested to leave
    the great Babylon, but finally they must flee for
    their life from there.
    http://www.algonet.se/~allan-sv/PAGE88.HTM

  15. […] with the reaction to the news that Todd Bentley and his wife were separating. You can find that here. Basically I was upset that so many people had received this news with apparent glee since it […]

  16. […] mulling over the question why does it seem that so many ministers fall? This started with the whole Todd Bentley/Lakeland revival thing. It seems that at least once a year, Christians hear of preachers, teachers, musicians, etc. […]

Leave a Reply

