god is not looking for perfection but connection

Posted: August 27, 2008 in Christianity
Tags: , , , , ,

In my never-ending search for Christian catch phrases, I have recently thought of a new one: “God is not looking for perfection but connection.” (Yeah, I know I’m starting to sound like Johnny Cochran). I’m not arrogant enough to think that no one else has thought of this before. But this one came to me while reading Paul’s amazing passage in Philippians 3:8-14. Check it out:

Yes, everything else is worthless when compared with the infinite value of knowing Christ Jesus my Lord. For his sake I have discarded everything else, counting it all as garbage, so that I could gain Christ and become one with him. I no longer count on my own righteousness through obeying the law; rather, I become righteous through faith in Christ. For God’s way of making us right with himself depends on faith. I want to know Christ and experience the mighty power that raised him from the dead. I want to suffer with him, sharing in his death, so that one way or another I will experience the resurrection from the dead! I don’t mean to say that I have already achieved these things or that I have already reached perfection. But I press on to possess that perfection for which Christ Jesus first possessed me. No, dear brothers and sisters, I have not achieved it, but I focus on this one thing: Forgetting the past and looking forward to what lies ahead, I press on to reach the end of the race and receive the heavenly prize for which God, through Christ Jesus, is calling us. (NLT)

B-E-A-utiful. We have a goal that we should be pursuing with all that we are. But that goal is not to sin less. Its not to get more people saved. Its not to be a “good christian.” Our goal is to grow in our connection to Him. That’s it. Of course once we connect to him, sin will slowly fade, we’ll lead others to Jesus and we’ll look like real genuine Christians. But those will be outward fruits that come from our inward change.

The problem is is that we want a quick fix. Many of us aren’t willing to take the time to truly connect with the Father. Sometimes it seems much easier to do Christianity than to be a Christian. But our Father is calling us. He is not content with our empty works. He longs to be connected to His creation.

I encourage you to spend some time connecting with Him. Sit on your bed and meditate on Him. (Psalm 4:4). Worship Him, speak to Him all throughout your day, put on your favorite worship CD and sing off-key to Him. Give Him access to every area of your life. Thats what He really wants.

Leave a Reply

