why do ministers fall – part three

Posted: October 20, 2008 in Christianity
Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Ok, so I think this will be my last post on this. I’ve enjoyed considering these things and its been interesting to look at my own life and see if I am a potential church headline. I hope you do the same.

The last thing I want mention here is the idea of “blind spots” found in A Contrarian’s Guide to Knowing God by Larry Osborne. And by the way, this is a great book for those who like to question the assumptions and status quo of Western church – especially concerning the individual growth progresssion of Christians. I loved it. Check out this passage:

“The Bible says of King Asa, “Although he did not remove the high places, Asa’s heart was fully committed to the LORD all his life.” (I Kings 15:14) God had said to destroy the high places and Asa didn’t do it? How could he be fully committed? Yet God said he was.

In fact, we all have our “high places,” our blind spots, areas where we simply don’t get it. Martin Luther was anti-semitic. Many American Christians supported slavery and segregation. Yet God uses people who have blind spots.

In someone else, a blind spot looks like pure disobedience. A genuine blind spot is different from willful disobedience. It is something I honestly don’t see, a truth I’m unable to grasp or an issue I’ve not yet come to grips with. The idea that God makes allowances for some sins is hard to swallow, especially when it’s not one of our sins.

Knowing this helps me to see others differently, to be less quick to assail those who hold viewpoints and positions that strike me as out of line with Scripture. What may look like a hard heart or deliberate disobedience might be a “blind spot,” like King Asa’s. It also helps me to remember that the speck I hardly notice in my eye may really be a log.”

What great insight! These “blind spots” as Osborne calls them may also contribute to the falling of many ministers. Maybe some of these issues that led to the downfall of certain ministers were blind spots in their lives – not willful disobedience. But instead of allowing the Holy Spirit to work with them and change them, we remove them from ministry because they no longer meet our ministry standards of perfection (see part one of this discussion). I’m reminded of the whole Darrell Evans/gambling thing a few years back.

Of course, this can’t be a cop-out – purposeful and willful sin is not the same as a blindspot. But maybe we need to give each other a break, including ministers. Its a tough job!

I welcome any comments – let me know why you think so many ministers fall seem to fall.

Leave a Reply

