Several years ago God was dealing with me about the idea of obedience. I think most of us approach Christian obedience from a “have to” perspective: we do whats right because we’re Christians and that’s what Christians are supposed to do.  God seemed to be saying that I should not try to obey out of compulsion, but I should simply get close to Him and let Him change my desires. Then I’d actually want to do what was right instead of attempting to halfheartedly make myself obey. I began to see obedience as the natural result of a loving relationship instead of the coerced result of a belief system. This is summed up in John 15:14,15 when Jesus says “You are My friends if you do whatever I command you. No longer do I call you servants, for a servant does not know what his master is doing; but I have called you friends, for all things that I heard from My Father I have made known to you.”

Obedience isn’t a typical topic for a worship song, but I figured what is more worshipful than God’s children proclaiming their desire to obey the Father as they draw near to Him? Sounds like worship to me. I had seen the name Adonai used for God occasionally during worship but had never really known what it meant besides yet another name for the Hebrew God. After a little study, I learned it means “Lord” or “Master” and denotes a loving master who you want to willingly obey. Pretty cool, huh? We used this song for several years at VFC but it kind of got lost in the shuffle as we added more and more songs. Who knows, maybe we’ll resurrect it one day…

Adonai

You paid the price and bought my life, I will obey You

You purchased me then set me free, I will obey You

Here am I, Lord send me

\\

Loving Master, I obey – You are Adonai

I will do what You say – You are Adonai

How I love all Your ways – You are Adonai

I will follow all my days, Adonai, Adonai

\\

You took me in and called me friend, I will obey You

Now I desire what You require, I will obey You

Here am I, Lord send me

\\

No longer do You call us servants

For they do not know what You do

But as Your friend, I take Your hand

And choose to obey You

© Jamie Nunnally 2010

Comments
  1. swupgee says:

    Yes, I accept Cheeses as my personal flavor :p

Leave a Reply

