you are so good to me (song)

Posted: October 12, 2010 in Music, Worship
Tags: , , , , ,

This is one of the most confusing songs I’ve ever written. After being challenged by a line in a book by Bill Johnson, I had started praying that God would allow me to introduce one of Heaven’s songs to Earth. Several weeks later I literally woke up with the chorus to this song in my head. I jumped out of bed all groggy and recorded a scratchy-voiced sample so I wouldn’t forget it. I knew I had never heard it before but it seemed so familiar. I’m fully aware this could be interpreted as flaky at best and pure arrogance at worst but I genuinely believe this chorus is a heavenly song. The problem is, what do I do with something like that?

I began to sing just the chorus as a “tag” on the end of other songs during worship and ministry times at church and could really sense purpose behind it. Wanting to use it somehow, I made it the bridge to another song that I had been working on called “I Am Not Ashamed” but in the end, it just didn’t seem to fit. Then, I wrote verses and a bridge around it and turned it into a song about praising God regardless of the trials life can bring, a la “Praise You in the Storm” by Casting Crowns. It wasn’t bad. The problem was, while it was worshipful, it wasn’t a worship song – more like something you’d hear for offering music. Finally, I wrote the song in its current congregational worship form and feel really comfortable with it.

Musically, I decided to make this a quieter piano-based song for the recording instead of the typical full-band effort. Once I introduce it to our congregation we’ll probably have more instrumentation but for now, I like the quiet intimacy of the piano.  Special thanks to my older brother Sam for playing the keyboard on this as I play the piano like Joaquin Phoenix raps.

You Are So Good to Me

When You found me I was unworthy

I earned judgment but You loved mercy

Now your grace falls and makes me holy

You’re calling me

You’re drawing me to You

//

God Almighty, Lord of Glory

You are so good to me, so good to me

//

You’re not looking for perfection

Your desire is connection

So now I’m changing my direction

You’re calling me

You’re drawing me closer

//

Your thoughts are higher

Your ways are better

Your love is deeper

I’m bound no longer

© Jamie Nunnally 2010

Comments
  1. Love the song, Jamie. Great lyrics. I was hoping Michael Sweet was going to kick the bridge, but getting Seal to do it was good too. 🙂

    Love yous cousins.

    • Jamie says:

      John, come to think of it, there is a Kiss From a Rose vibe in the bridge isn’t there. Funny! One time Sam told me that one of my other songs sounded like a Seal song but he then informed me, “Don’t worry though, his song is much better.”

  2. Sam says:

    Beautiful song bro – that’s the first time I’ve heard it put together since the tracking. Very pretty…

    p.s. Is it necessary to put “older” in front of “brother” for every familial reference?

  3. Dana says:

    Absolutely precious. Love the song, the lyrics, the melody….It’s all good! It’s such a blessing 🙂 It was a great way to start my day today.

Leave a Reply

