eternity (song)

Posted: September 9, 2011 in Uncategorized

And now for something completely different.

When I was recording my album Forever, I decided to record a song I had written years ago called Eternity. The song is a whistful reflection on the difficulties of comprehending the idea of eternity/infinity/forever. I don’t know about you but I can’t quite seem to wrap my head around the concept. I even remember being little boy thinking about it and crying because it didn’t make sense to me. Years later, my oldest son and I had the exact same conversation I remember having with my mom when that happened: we simply do not possess the ability to fully understand eternity. We just have to trust God and believe that he’ll take care of us when we die. Eternity is a gift and He’s not going to give anything to us that’s not good!

Musically, this one was really fun. The whole song is built around an odd middle-eastern sounding vocal run that just showed up in my head one day. I almost called the song “Eternity in G” because the whole song is just one chord and simply finds melodic runs within that one key (a la The Beatles’ Tomorrow Never Knows). But that just seemed a little pretentious. For instrumentation, I just went with the middle-eastern feel and used percussion instead of drums and vocal harmony instead of lots of other instrumentation.

Ultimately, the song didn’t make it on the CD for a few reasons. First, although I thought the song might fit thematically with the “Forever” concept, its really not a worship song and that’s the whole point of the album! Secondly, this song is almost impossible to sing. I could never recreate it live and I feel like vocally, this version is barely even good enough to share publicly, much less put on a CD. To be honest, I think the writer in me bit off a little more than my musical abilities can chew with this one.

Anyway, I hope you enjoy it and I hope the song awakens a longing in your heart to not be afraid eternity, but to embrace its beautiful uncertainty.

Eternity

I can hardly understand the concept of eternity

When time and space collapse into a Limitless Infinite Being

//

I can barely comprehend the notion of infinity

When all our moments merge together and history will never cease

//

I can scarcely apprehend the thought of this reality:

There will never be a time where you and I will cease to be

© Jamie Nunnally 2010

Leave a Reply

