i can’t be here (song)

Posted: January 24, 2011 in Music
Tags: , , , , ,

I want to share a new song with everyone! It’s a break from the typical worship stuff I do and is more along the lines of a Christian radio song. I’m actually planning on entering this one into a songwriting contest. While my focus and passion is worship music, I like to try to write songs for all purposes and genres just to see if I can. Usually, I can’t. 🙂

The song started out as a boy/girl love song and eventually morphed into a monologue by God (Godologue?) to those who have rejected Him. I began to consider what it would sound like if God wrote a love song to the people that didn’t accept His “advances.” He’s essentially pleading with them here to reconsider their choice and make sure they grasp the full ramifications of a life without Him. Pretty heavy stuff. I tried to match the music to the subject’s tone by using “pretty” chords, a haunting melody and lots of dynamics. Hopefully it captures both the beauty of grace and the heartache of rejection. God is not to be pitied. But I believe His heart is affected when the creation He loves doesn’t respond to His call.

On a technical note, there is some distortion throughout, especially in the very beginning that is not on the original recording but is due to the free (read: sucky) service I use to post music on here. If you want a high-quality MP3 just message me.

Please let me know what you think!

I Can’t Be Here

Are you sure you understand

That if you do not take my hand

You reject the Son I sent

And love that’s closer than a friend?

//

Don’t you know and can’t you see

I’ll be gone, ‘cause you told me to leave

If you’ll cry out I’ll wipe your tears

But you have said I can’t be here

//

Are you sure you comprehend

That if you say this is the end

What you’ve done I can’t defend

And you’ll be on your own again?

//

Can you see, do you know

Will this be what you want

In a week, in a month

Down the road, later on?

//

Are you sure you’ve thought of when

This world you chase is gone again

Will your choice to serve your sin

Have consequence you don’t intend?

© 2011 Jamie Nunnally

Comments
  1. Lee-Ann says:

    it is not a bad song. u r a great praise n worship individual

  2. Kathy says:

    Miss you and the worship! There hasn’t been a church that can compare to you all but I guess that is normal to feel that way about home!

  3. chanceman4 says:

    Cool! Please come and check out my site at chanceman4. My name is Chris Chance and there is a link on my blog to listen to my CD, “Following You” featuring “You” and “His Prints Are in the Sand”. We are trying to get this project up and moving, so anything you can do and any way you could pass it on would be greatly appreciated. Also you can go to http://www.noisetrade.com/chrischance. Hope you enjoy and are blessed by it!!!!
    Thanks and God Bless!
    Chris

Leave a comment